Monday, December 4, 2017

Are You Ready For "2600 A.D. And Other Astonishing Tales" By Mississippi Bones? Buckle In....

Mississippi Bones formed in the flat lands of Hardin County, Ohio in 2010 as a two man studio project, thanks to some free studio time, with no other motive than to lay down some rock and no intentions of a future. In the last 7 years the rock has not stopped. They have moved from a two to a six man (5 men 1 lady) band, but the goal remains the same … laying down fat slabs o'rock.

Some say you hear Clutch influences in their music, maybe, but listen to their albums and you'll be blown away by how much more you're about to discover. Soul, blues and southern rock have never been combined with heavy riffing and catchy melodies like this.

"12 more songs that rattle and crash with incredible energy, enthusiasm, and elegance. When I listen through this album I hear elements of Clutch, which makes this music quite exciting to me, but that is only the starting point for what they've created here. … just sheer raucous rock n roll pleasure, a fierceness of execution, and a keen sense of joy." -

"Big rock riffs, great lyrics, crazy song titles, brilliant cover art and it just begs to ask one big question - how are this Band not one of the biggest on the planet? The album as a whole is a little bit darker and heavier than the one before but is still always easy on the ear and continues to reward repeated listening. So there we have it - a combination of maximum riffing, educated lyrics and catchy songs - what's not to like?" - 10/10 @

Mississippi Bones are:

Dusty Donley- Guitars
Jared Collins- Vocals
Derik Dunson- Guitars, Vocals
Jason Rector- Bass
Jason Miller- Drums
Heather Collins- Backing Vocals

01. Bakshi To The Future
02. Butcher Of The 9 Lunar Mansions
03. Outhouse Poet (Or Shitty Lyricist)
04. Sleep Atlas At Last
05. Robot Kaiju Hullabaloo
06. 2600 AD - Jared Vs The Space Invaders
07. The Eulogy of Captain Sam Quint
08. Greener Pastures (I Hear Chernobyl Is Nice This Time Of Year)
09. Metaphor Is Just A Word
10. The Fly In Your Ointment
11. Thank You For Listening

Available as Limited Edition Vinyl

Release Date: 22nd December 2017

- 200x yellow/red/white marbled vinyl (111 of which are handnumbered as MAILORDER edition, the rest will be sold by the band and a few selected distributors)
- 100x black vinyl
- Plated & pressed on high performance vinyl by Pallas Group in Germany
- Deluxe 300gsm gatefold cover
- Special vinyl mastering

No comments:

Post a Comment